Menu

101 Photos Capture the Magic and Heartbreak of Childhood (Sponsored)

https://ad.atdmt.com/i/img;p=11237203775018;idfa=;idfa_lat=;aaid=;aaid_lat=;cache=

© Aaron Rodriguez (@theongoingworldphotography)

Leigh Webber

The Legend of Play, Laguna Beach, California © Leigh Webber (@leighwebber)

5-29-13 005

Goldfish © Aaron Wax (@ajwax)

In the early 1990s, Sally Mann famously told The New York Times Magazine, “Sometimes I think the only memories I have are those that I’ve created around photographs of me as a child.” It’s true; in adulthood, we remember our childhoods from pictures taken by those who loved us. For our latest group show, we invited you to submit the photographs you’ve taken of children and their surroundings, images that capture the elusive essence of childhood— its joys, its disappointment, and everything in between.

Curator Alison Zavos, Editor-in-Chief of Feature Shoot, selected 101 photographs from thousands of submissions. Due the popularity of this show and caliber of the images submitted, the editors of Feature Shoot have started a brand new Instagram account: Childhood Everyday (@childhoodeveryday). The feed will showcase photographs of childhood around the world. To submit your images for consideration, simply follow @childhoodeveryday on Instagram and tag your photos #childhoodeveryday.

The children featured here range from infancy to early adolescence, taking us through the lives of youngsters living around the world. We visit an orphanage in Nepal, the streets of Mumbai, a primary school in Turkey, and summerhouses in Maine.

These children come from various places, each with a different story, but these artists have conveyed not only the specific but the universal delight and anguish that come with the early years of any lifetime. In childhood, the pain of timeouts, playground politics, and dead goldfish is almost unbearably acute, but the all-consuming wonder of hopping on a swing, finding a new toy, or patting a dog, is equally as intense.

This group show was sponsored by Squarespace, an online publishing platform designed with photographers in mind. With award-winning design, domains, commerce, hosting, and 24/7 support, Squarespace helps photographers discover more ways to market themselves and expand their business. Click here to start a free 14-day trial.

fionabailey

Post water fight © Fiona Bailey (@fionabailey)

Clary Estes

A student comforts her fellow classmate as they both sit in detention, Stanton Elementary School, Washington, DC © Clary Estes (@claryestes)

Rifqi Dahlgren

Hugs, Klappa, Sweden © Rifqi Dahlgren (@rifqisphoto)

therealdanaleigh

My mother’s hands embracing one of my babies © Dana Leigh (@therealdanaleigh)

therealdanaleigh

© Dana Leigh (@therealdanaleigh)

dana

So much love, so much dog hair © Dana Leigh (@therealdanaleigh)

therealdanaleigh

Touching the sky © Dana Leigh (@therealdanaleigh)

giampieroassumma

Ireland, 1998 © Giampiero Assumma (@giampieroassumma)

giampieroassumma

Little Circus, Calabria, Italy © Giampiero Assumma (@giampieroassumma)

heathfish

Sewell Pond, Maine © Heather Perry (@heathfish)

Heathfish

Head First © Heather Perry (@heathfish)

heather2

© Heather Perry (@heathfish)

heather3

© Heather Perry (@heathfish)

Robin Cracknell

Cast, London, UK © Robin Cracknell

zachstephens_01

Aria in the box © Zachary Stephens (@photo.zach)

Vianney LE CAER

Pupils queue for lunch at Al-Huda primary school, Antakya, Turkey © Vianney LE CAER (@vlecaer)

Edyta Pekala

Grimace © Edyta Pekala

Amanda Mustard

Audrey at Home © Amanda Mustard (@amandamustard)

Caroline Irby

First bite, London © Caroline Irby (@carolineirby)

carolineirby

The first thing my son always does when we are somewhere new is to empty out his rucksack and arrange his toy animals. © Caroline Irby (@carolineirby)

Irby

Elodie under Norfolk skies © Caroline Irby (@carolineirby)

Carole Filiu Mouhali_04

Algiers, Algeria © Carole Filiu Mouhali (@demarseilleaalger)

Candace Boysen

© Candace Marie Boysen (@silenceofthelens)

Ashleigh Raddatz1

The simple things © Ashleigh Raddatz (@ashraddatz)

Ashleigh Raddatz

Laughing while mom panics © Ashleigh Raddatz (@ashraddatz)

David Barry

© David Barry (@davidbarryphoto)

Sushina imitates her mother

When the parents leave the NHCPS orphanage in Nepal for work, there is a feeling of freedom among the kids and everything becomes a game. Here, Sushina imitates her mother © Julien Fumard (@JulienFumard)

Chaos in orphanage

Once Sujan and Anita, who run the NHCPS orphanage, leave for work during the children’s holidays, chaos reigns supreme. Hopefully, volunteers and family are here to help and watch over them. © Julien Fumard (@JulienFumard)

kata sedlak

Piestany, Solvakia © Kata Sedlak (@katasedlak)

Kim Turner

Curtain Play © Kim Turner Smith (@kimturnerphotography)

kimturnerphotography

© Kim Turner Smith (@kimturnerphotography)

KimTurner

Hunsader Farms, Florida © Kim Turner Smith (@kimturnerphotography)

Kate T. Parker1

Dreamer © Kate T. Parker (@katetparkerphotography)

Kate T. Parker

Bathtime © Kate T. Parker (@katetparkerphotography)

LaurenMitchell_04

Basketball Court © Lauren Mitchell (@lauren_m_mitchell)

LaurenMitchell_03

Cocoa Beach © Lauren Mitchell (@lauren_m_mitchell)

Lou_mora

© Lou Mora (@loumora)

MichaelBach_05-3

Nicholas, playing with a video game, Troy, New York, November 2001 © Michael Bach

Orsolya Boncsér

Hungary © Orsolya Boncsér (@szuziesanaplopok)

Laima_Vainina

Riga, Latvia © Laima Vainina (@papiira_elpa)

barbralou

© Barbra Lou Walker (@barbralou)

Kelsey Gerhard

© Kelsey Gerhard (@kelseygerhardphoto)

Kelsey Gerhard2

© Kelsey Gerhard (@kelseygerhardphoto)

Hamed Hashemi

Domburg, Zeeland, the Netherlands © Hamed Hashemi (@hamedhashemi)

elisa trombali

© Elisa Trombali (@elisatrombali)

janehoule

A boy seated in his father’s vintage station wagon, Deming, New Mexico © Jane Houle (@janehoule)

starladawnndl

Chloe holds the silly straw because her ears are too small to hold the glasses. © Starla Dawn (@starladawnndl)

ali_kat_dietz

Hayden, 10, plays dress up in her aunt Hannah’s jingle dress as it starts to snow in Reno, Oklahoma. Her aunt used to dance at the Pow Wow every summer. The homemade regalia will often stay in the family for years, passed down from generation to generation. © Alexandra K. Dietz (@ali_kat_dietz)

karel.kravik

Tartu, Estonia © Karel Kravik (@karel.kravik)

kariherer

© Kari Herer (@kariherer)

Kari2

© Kari Herer (@kariherer)

rominaphoto

© RominaPhoto (@rominaphoto) / Float Magazine (@float_magazine)

Oana Rednic

Everything about raising a child is both simple and messy. One hell of a beautiful mess. © Oana Rednic (@oana.rednic)

Nathaniel Wilder

A young boy plays with a frog he caught outside of a party on a sweltering evening in
Kalamazoo, Michigan © Nathaniel Wilder (@wilderphoto)

Nathan Osterhaus

Fukuoka Prefecture, Japan © Nathan Osterhaus (@nate.osterhaus)

Natalia Shaidenko

© Natalia Shaidenko

Peter Trembeczki

Practice © Peter Trembeczki

Piper Prach

Into the Light © Piper Prach

Rebecca Moseman

Alex with Collar, Virginia © Rebecca Moseman (@mosemanstudios)

richard daniels

Shooting hoops in a local village, Cebu, Philippines © Richard James Daniels (@richard.james.daniels)

alessandrorocchi

The Potter’s Village, Ghana © Alessandro Rocchi (@alessandrorocchi)

gretchenrobinette

© Gretchen Robinette (@gretchenrobinette)

gretchen

© Gretchen Robinette (@gretchenrobinette)

uri_pinner

© Uri Pinner (@uri_pinner)

lisskaseman

Class Frog © Melissa Kaseman (@lisskaseman)

riteshuttamchandani

A girl plays in a swing made from her mom’s saree © Ritesh Uttamchandani (@riteshuttamchandani)

tomdarin.l

A barbershop in Texas © Tom Darin Liskey (@tomdarin.l)

jenniferkapala

© Jennifer Kapala (@jenniferkapala)

Melanie Eclare

© Melanie Eclare (@melanieeclare)

melanieeclare

Carla on Essie the beloved pony © Melanie Eclare (@melanieeclare)

ziyahgafic

© Ziyah Gafic (@ziyahgafic)

ziyahgafic

72 people were killed on Easter in suicide bombing in Lahore, Pakistan © Ziyah Gafic (@ziyahgafic)

ziyahgafic

Once upon a time in a Northwestern frontier province of Pakistan © Ziyah Gafic (@ziyahgafic)

ziyahgafic

War is hell. Sarajevo, Bosnia, 20 years after. © Ziyah Gafic (@ziyahgafic)

barefootredhook

Breastfeeding, Red Hook, Brooklyn © Heather White (@barefootredhook)

kerrylongphoto

© Kerry Long (@kerrylongphoto)

breapeterson_photo

© Breanna Peterson (@breapeterson_photo)

Riddle

She dreams of having wings, Coronado Cays, California © Kristianne Koch Riddle (@kristiannekochriddle)

annamoller_

Train to Marseille © Anna Moller (@annamoller_)

Anna Moller

© Anna Moller (@annamoller_)

Romina Mandrini

© Romina Mandrini (@rominamandrini)

kirstygmackay

© Kirsty Mackay (@kirstygmackay)

Kirsty

Rosie & her mum © Kirsty Mackay (@kirstygmackay)

kirtsty

Candy Floss © Kirsty Mackay (@kirstygmackay)

Kirsty

My body, still her home © Kirsty Mackay (@kirstygmackay)

Heather_Evans_Smith_02

Contraries © Heather Evans Smith (@heatherevanssmith)

evanssmith

Confection © Heather Evans Smith (@heatherevanssmith)

evanssmith

Wrench © Heather Evans Smith (@heatherevanssmith)

aimeemcnamee

The most frequently bathed puppy in all of puppy history, Cleveland, Ohio © Aimee McNamee (@aimeemcnamee)

ansichtssache_fotos

© Ansichtssache Fotos (@ansichtssache_fotos)

_janak_rathod_

Two boys dive into the waters to beat the scorching heat at Girgaon Chowpaty. © Janak Rathod (@_janak_rathod_)

nohazayed

Back from exploring the sand bank on the Gulf of Suez © Noha Zayed (@nohazayed)

DaraScully

The Mirror © Dara Scully (@darascully)

katrina_crook

Sliding Down Front First © Katrina Crook (@katrina_crook)

nicolajwrayphotography

© Nicola Wray (@nicolajwrayphotography)

A summer to remember

A summer to remember, Romania © Radu Mihai Iani (@raduiani)

raduiani

Back in time, Wells, Somerset, England © Radu Mihai Iani (@raduiani)

franziskarieder

© Franziska Rieder (@franziskarieder)

Squarespace is a Feature Shoot sponsor.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get some visual inspiration into your day!