Menu

The Art of Food in 60 Photos (Sponsored)

https://ad.atdmt.com/i/img;p=11237203775017;idfa=;idfa_lat=;aaid=;aaid_lat=;cache=

Heaven © Andreas Joshua Carver (@theaphrodisiackitchen)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 11.20.01 AM

Watermelon rinds © Aliza Eliazarov (@aliza_eliazarov)

Whether we’re talking about Dutch still life painting or fast food advertisements, art and imagery has always been intimately connected to what we eat. For our latest group, show we invited you to submit photographs that show the wonderful and strange relationship between food and art. Curated by Alison Zavos, Editor-in-Chief at Feature Shoot, the resulting collection of winning images expresses just how far that theme can be stretched; we received mostly gorgeous confections, a few grotesque concoctions, and everything in between.

While food has always inspired art and art has always inspired food, perhaps we’re entering a new dawn of food art in the age of Instagram. In 2013, Somerset in London house hosted an entire exhibition honoring the chef Ferran Adria, and the director of exhibitions Claire Catterall supported this theory. She told NPR, “People have become a lot more sophisticated in their knowledge of food, a lot more interested in food, and that certainly didn’t exist 10 years ago.”

If what NPR calls the “food as art” trend did indeed begin on Instagram, it seemed fitting for us to open up a brand new Instagram account to coincide with this group show. World Chow (@worldchow) is a new submission-based platform for all things food, curated by the editors of Feature Shoot. To submit your images for consideration, simply follow @worldchow on Instagram and tag your photos #worldchow.

This group show was sponsored by Squarespace, an online publishing platform designed with photographers in mind. With award-winning design, domains, commerce, hosting, and 24/7 support, Squarespace helps photographers discover more ways to market themselves and expand their business. Click here to start a free 14-day trial.

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 3.05.18 PM

Still life with hot sauce© Josh Dickinson (@joshdinnyc)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 11.37.32 AM

Candy cane toothpaste © Josh Dickinson (@joshdinnyc) and Catherine Kim (@catherinejkim)

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 3.08.17 PM

Butter, Spring Restaurant at Somerset House, London © Robert Walker (@robertwalker100)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 12.21.14 PM

Dinner, Esplendido Hotel, Majorca © Robert Walker (@robertwalker100)

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 3.12.25 PM

Omega 3 © Johnny Tang (@wereldheerser)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 12.01.28 PM

Oyster © Johnny Tang (@wereldheerser)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 11.29.14 AM

Tea with lemons © Ashleigh Amoroso (@ashamorskitchen)

Figs

Figs © Ashleigh Amoroso (@ashamorskitchen)

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 3.32.04 PM

Pickled Radishes © Ashleigh Amoroso (@ashamorskitchen)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 11.24.16 AM

Teatime © Ashleigh Amoroso (@ashamorskitchen)

Ping

Soup with avocado © Ping Wang Xin (@pingwangxin, @pingwangstudio)

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 3.22.53 PM

Petit four © Des Moriarty (@desmoriarty)

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 3.23.09 PM

Lunchables © Des Moriarty (@desmoriarty)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 12.22.29 PM

Blueberries © Des Moriarty (@desmoriarty)

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 3.25.38 PM

Pineberries © Sakara Life (@sakaralife)

beth_galton_7

Cut Food © Beth Galton (@bgaltonstudio)

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 3.39.57 PM

Melting granny smith © Justin Poulsen (@justinpoulsenphoto)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 11.46.35 AM

Study of a Salmonberry © Laara Cerman (@laaracerman)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 11.49.16 AM

Himalayan Blackberry © Laara Cerman (@laaracerman)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 11.58.20 AM

Peas from my garden, eaten immediately after © Laara Cerman (@laaracerman)

Carved-Watermelon

Carved watermelon © Louise Hagger (@louisehagger)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 11.47.39 AM

Seafood carpaccio and a shaved ice dessert © Louise Hagger (@louisehagger)

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 3.54.21 PM

Meringue whip © Louise Hagger (@louisehagger)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 12.11.24 PM

Saffron and broad bean paella in The Guardian © Louise Hagger (@louisehagger)

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 3.45.54 PM

‘Beet it, just beet it’ © Meredith Andrews (@meredithphoto)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 11.59.29 AM

Octopus sashimi © Meredith Andrews (@meredithphoto)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 11.55.53 AM

A smoked, picked and fermented birthday feast © Meredith Andrews (@meredithphoto)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 12.19.17 PM

Surinam cherries © Meredith Andrews (@meredithphoto)

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 4.08.38 PM

Gummy bears that look like Batman © Gummi Pop (@gummipop.co)

OrganicStrawberry

Organic strawberry © Jonathan Beckerman (@beckermanphotography)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 11.21.55 AM

Purple carrot © Herz & Anker (@herzundanker)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 11.31.48 AM

Fish © Amanda Berlinski (@a_berlinski) and Sol Ji Park (@park50171)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 11.32.49 AM

White and chioggia beets © Teresa Palmisano (@t.palmisano)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 11.33.46 AM

How to make tomato soup © Emmi Hyyppä (@duktiga)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 11.36.14 AM

Oranges, Barbados © Thisbe Nissen (@onegreytoe)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 11.40.01 AM

Diptych with blood orange dessert © Dorn + Carbone (@dornandcarbone)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 11.43.25 AM

Octopus © Dorn + Carbone (@dornandcarbone)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 11.53.03 AM

Agua fresca sculpture © Skye Snyder (@skyesnyder)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 11.54.07 AM

Copenhagen breakfast of market nectarines and cherries, gluten free bread/carrot flaxseed breakfast cake, muesli with raspberries and tea © Belle Carlson (@bellejune)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 11.57.11 AM

Purple Pods © Leonie Barton (@leoniebarton)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 12.00.23 PM

Birthday cake © Jennifer Marx (@jennifer.marx)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 12.06.11 PM

Sleeping Beauty © Jennifer Marx (@jennifer.marx)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 12.14.01 PM

Pomegranate © Jennifer Marx (@jennifer.marx)

lucia-fainzilber-tcd-01-b-960x640

Lobster © Lucia Fainzilber (@lufainzilber)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 12.05.01 PM

Galette des Rois © Barbra Lou Walker (@barbralou)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 12.12.56 PM

Study of an Oreo cookie © Marly Ludwig (@mludz)

christosjpalios_05

Treated, Greece, 2014 © Christos J. Palios (@reducedhue)

megansenior_02

From ‘The Joy of Feasting by Miranti’ © Megan Senior (@mesenior), Jennifer McCabe

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 12.14.57 PM

Coffee and waffle at The Winchester © Oriana Koren (@orianakoren)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 12.16.48 PM

From the series ‘Hong Kong Cafe’ © Ange Ong (@aangeong)

AngeliqueAmbrosio_01

Modern Food: Corn © Angelique Ambrosio (@angeliqueambrosio)

AngeliqueAmbrosio_02

Modern Food: Fish © Angelique Ambrosio (@angeliqueambrosio)

AngeliqueAmbrosio_03

Modern Food: Green Pepper © Angelique Ambrosio (@angeliqueambrosio)

AngeliqueAmbrosio_04

Modern Food: Chicken © Angelique Ambrosio (@angeliqueambrosio)

KtaNogchi_01

World of red © Keita Noguchi (@solwara)

AliKateCherkis_1

Aoife Blows an Egg at the Institute © Ali Kate Cherkis (@cherkis)

SallyRobinson_05

Royal Earl Grey Tea © Sally Robinson (@sallyrobinsonphoto)

Mandala stop motion animation © Lauren Vied Allen (@viedfinder)

Squarespace is a Feature Shoot sponsor.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get some visual inspiration into your day!